Destination: Hobbies

Photography in low light with Canon T3i

So, I am a dummy. A really big dummy. I mentioned that I recently bought a DSLR, yeah? I took a few pictures and assumed myself to be a photography god. I was sadly mistaken. For my cousin’s birthday, who will have a wedding late May, I thought I could take some awesome pictures for her to use later.  NOPE. Did not understand how to use a DSLR in low light. My cousin’s Nokia did a much better job than me. However, I do not have access to those pictures at this time. You people will have to settle with just mine and imagine how beautiful her pictures turned out.

000001 000002

This is what I took with my crappy photography skills that night. Did not even focus the picture. Yay me. I guess the first few that I took were so incredibly unsee-able, that I deleted them. These two have flash (I felt so guilty for flashing; curse you dim-lighted Cheesecake Factory next to Disneyland). I have discovered how to take brighter pictures without using flash on my T3i. I got pictures that looked like this after today’s experiment.

IMG_0022 IMG_0025

It looks like there is a light on, right? Nope. I turned off the lamps. The only lights that are on, are from those little light bulbs near the wall and the hallway. How did I do this? Good Question. How to make the picture not so red? I do not know…. yet. But, here are my settings to get low-light pictures:

On the AV Setting of the dial, Aperature priority, fiddle with the settings.

* set the F-stop to 3.5 or the lowest option possible to allow the lens to capture more light.

* set the ISO to 3200. (source: jmeyer) Maybe 1600 or 800 if you are not as shaky as I am. By changing the ISO, especially in this mode where you cannot change the shutter speed, the time it takes to take a picture (shutter speed lol) is much faster in comparison to 1600 or 800 ISO. If you have a tripod and still subjects, by all means use a smaller ISO for better results. Mine have some noise, but not enough to make me cry like the blurry pictures I took.

* To avoid darkness in photos, change the picture style settings to custom with low contrast. (source: F&J) I mean, you don’t have to, but it does help.

Well, that is all. If I figure out anything else, I will share my experience!

Leave a Reply

